top of page

'The True North'


 

Adventure, wilderness, legend. North America.

As I sit here writing my very first post for this blog, I'm drinking coffee, listening to Gavin DeGraw... relevant? Well, as Gavin DeGraw is native to New York and coffee is a worshipped commodity in the US, I'm about to admit that...I'm looking out of my window, pretending I'm gazing out on the hipster filled streets of Williamsburg and that Gavin is just on the other side of my bricked apartment wall, practising with his acoustic. In reality I'm sitting in my somewhat chilly English bedroom. Now, there is absolutely nothing wrong with England, in fact it's my complete favourite place in the world but my very laboured point is that; New York is the place I fantasise about most in the world and that's what America has to offer...a certain something, not found in any location...The American Dream. This does not just extend to citizens of the country but all the way to the UK and I'm sure, beyond.

Not only home to some of the most famous but some of the most beautiful sights in the world, the good old US of A sparks images of the sunset like Grand Canyon, the striking Niagara Falls and burgers the size of both of those wonders. OK, so there are definitely more amazing things to see and do in the USA than burgers...hello...can anyone say 'Walt Disney World'? Seriously though, this is why America is great, it's not just the sights, or the food, or the theme parks, it's all of them and more; it's where The American Dream has come true, it's where the light bulb was invented, it's great.

Admittedly, I don't much about Canada, this is something I hope to change though! I haven't technically been to 'The True North', however I did pop in for an hour while visiting Niagara Falls and I can't say I was disappointed! I've always wanted to explore its arresting wilderness , its elegance and of course its striking wildlife and perhaps be extremely comfortable in a climate more suited to my own.

Cultural brilliance and more of my favourite food than you can shake a stick at, comes in the form of Mexico. Similarly to Canada, I've never been to the vibrant and totally exciting country but it is for sure on the list. I'm ashamed that I can't say more about Mexico but I don't want to just Google something and then transfer it to here...you could do that yourself!

Arguably the most diverse of the continents, North America is also home to the typically tropical Caribbean. I have been to a couple of different islands in the Caribbean and I am indeed half Jamaican...although I couldn't seem less Jamaican if I tried, so this is a place I do know about but again, I hope to know and see a lot more!

For now, it's safe to say that apart from my home, North America is home to my favourite places in the world.

Warning: fantasies may vary. Variations include: sipping a creamy hot chocolate while listening to Gavin through my earphones and being utterly bewildered by the Rockefeller Christmas Tree, writing in Central Park on a bright and warm summer's day or having a drink at The National Underground, Gavin DeGraw's bar...though fantasies vary..they almost always include Gavin.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page