top of page

#FlashbackFriday - Matlock

In the spirit of the season; I wish I could give you a festive flashback, however it is a tradition, that I stay in the comfy confines of my house...while this is true, we can still dream of exploration. The most festive of my previous expeditions is not really an expedition at all. You may not know that Rob and I are in a long distance relationship; he lives in Matlock, Derbyshire, while I live in Birmingham...not a million miles away but enough that we only see each other at the weekend (sad face).

My favourite time of the year to visit Derbyshire is Christmas, in complete contrast to Birmingham the Peak District offers sweeping hills, adorable cottage-lined streets and fresh country air. With this in mind, there is no better place to experience country living at the most wonderful time of the year than Rob's house. His Mom making Christmas puddings in the enviable country kitchen, his Dad ever so precisely, hanging baubles on the tree and his six year old niece running wild with sugar-fuelled excitement, as well as multiple open and roaring fires and more cosiness than your average Christmas advert.

Matlock town transports you back to a time before Wi-Fi and into a perfect postcard, apart from the fact that people don't fall face first into snow on postcards...just saying. I always relish in strolling through the park and shopping in the tiny boutiques then settling back in the living room for a hot chocolate and a film. In my home away from home, Christmas comes alive and what more could you want?

Have the happiest of holidays, wherever you are.

Keep exploring.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page