top of page

Weekend in London

Weekend in London:

Every year, my group of besties and I take a trip to London - somehow this year we thought that two trips weren’t enough so we’ve just come back from a third. I laughed until my tummy hurt, I drank until my tummy hurt and I ate until my tummy hurt…amazing weekend.

Day One:

After meeting up at King’s Cross, we made our way to our hostel. Having stayed in various places in London before, we’d chosen a new little gem: Clink 78. A short walk from the station and set in an old courthouse, Clink 78 is a vibrant and super cool place to hang out and meet new people, as well as get a good night’s sleep with complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. After exchanging our Secret Santa gifts and donning our best and trendiest Christmas hats we were off to Winter Wonderland.

Something I’ve always admired about London is the efficiency of the tube: I know it can be annoying, when something goes wrong down there but it is so accessible, quick and easy to understand (to a non-Londoner like myself), in my opinion, it is the best way to travel in the city. So, after a few speedy minutes, we were at Hyde Park.

As part of our Secret Santa, we had to buy a silly Christmas hat for each other; our hats were a huge hit, earning us compliments and even free drinks! We may have looked like idiots but we pretty much always do and we were happy idiots.

With a charming Little Bavaria, adorable ski-chalet themed pubs, sweet German Grogg and a mixture of thrill and gentle rides, this literal wonderland was the perfect dose of Christmas. Winter Wonderland is a definite must if you’re around London at Christmas time.

After Hyde Park, we made our way back to Clink 78 and down to the bar: snooker games, shots, dancing and card games ensued and we had a super fun and a super hilarious night. We attempted to re-enter the dorm as quietly as a bunch of drunken morons possibly could, however we managed to wake our poor dorm mate, while falling out of bunk beds and setting off our musical Christmas socks…the height of class.

Day Two:

After waking up with slightly sore heads but hilarious memories, we went for our complimentary breakfast. Four gallons of tea later, we checked out and in our own little tradition, we hit the arcades next to The London Eye and The London Dungeons.

Taking us back to our childish ways once more, we played lots of games including bowling - which I was actually good at for once (though Rob was better, because he’s annoyingly great at everything). We then had a huge dose of Christmas in the form of Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus and Hamley’s. Twinkling, magical lights adorned Regent Street; shoppers bustled with their millions of Christmas bags, children bounced around with sugar in their systems and choirs framed the streets with their carols. I feel like this could be some sort of Christmas song “city sidewalks, busy sidewalks, dressed in holiday style…” Listen to my favourite version of Silver Bells here.

Because we’d walked quite a lot, I earned myself my very first blister (lovely) so we accepted defeat and went and set up camp in the nearest Starbucks, with a peppermint hot chocolate. Then came the sad part…because I met my absolute best friends at university, we unfortunately live all over the country so we had to part ways, with Christmas, love and fun in our minds after the most wonderful weekend. P.S. how are you supposed to wash musical socks?

What did you get up to this weekend? Have you got any trips planned over the holidays? Drop me a comment and let me know!

You can always follow me on Instagram and Twitter to keep up with my Christmas fun and travels.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page