top of page

Wanderlust Wednesday - Chicago


Sources: whosdrivingyou.org, hookedonhouses.net, chicagohillsidehotel.com

Why? An early Christmas fantasy.

So, can you lust – or more specifically wanderlust after a place you’ve already been to? Of course you can! Hello Wanderlust Wednesday: “a strong desire to travel”, this is the definition of wanderlust. Now, wanderlust is a term that’s banded around frequently in these cyber parts, so do we frequently find out where people want to go? Well, every Wednesday, I’ll be making myself miserable by telling you where I'm dreaming of.

I like to describe Chicago as a ‘chilled New York’. Two of my favourite places are New York and Hawaii and Chicago to me, is a cohesive marriage of these places; instead of wandering through palm trees to get to the water, you can wander through imposing skyscrapers and instead of relaxing at the beach, surrounded by tropical birds and mountains, you relax at the beach surrounded by the bustle of the city Or more appropriately for me...be compared to a beached whale in a swimsuit...proabably. Amazing right?

When Rob and I backpacked, Chicago was one of the places we picked and honestly, I had no preconceived opinions. The fact that we accidently booked in to a luxury hotel after roughly five months of hostels and bed and breakfasts helped, but it was love at first sight. I immediately felt like I could live in The Windy City *bursts in to a Calamity Jane medley*

I am currently lusting after Chicago because who wouldn't want an injection of excitement and relaxation all at once? Truthfully, Autumn is upon us and after an unusually long summer, the sun is letting go as October takes hold. It is not yet socially acceptable for me to crack out the mulled wine, the singing Jingle Bells jumper and blast Mariah in my car (I'm not saying I haven't done it....several times) but as it's not acceptable, I have to accept that - for now - it's just a bit cold and rainy. So, scarves, gloves and hot chocolates and drifting down Michigan Avenue is what I'm dreaming of...plus, it's where the Home Alone house is and what's more Christmassy than that?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page