top of page

#FlashbackFriday - Home Alone


#FlashbackFriday – Home Alone

So, to tie in with the previous Wanderlust Wednesday, I’m flashing back to Chicago. It is a widely known fact that Home Alone is my favourite Christmas film (and one of my favourite films in general). So, when I knew that the Home Alone house was actually real and in the same vicinity as me, I knew I had to see it. In the village of Winnetka stands the impressive, grand and perpetually Christmassy house.

Roughly an hour from the city, we hopped on a train and excitedly awaited our visit. As we disembarked we realised we’d entered a world not too dissimilar from that of Desperate Housewives, classic white picket fences, expensive and glossy hairdressing salons, and trendy coffee shops greeted our bedraggled and tired backpacking clothes but it was ok, I was in the second richest municipality in the USA and I was ecstatic.

We wandered through the Stepford looking streets and found the house. The house. Cautious at first, we saw another tourist group having their photos taken in front of the striking mansion so with British reserve, we sloped up to the house to have a quick and embarrassed pic and that was it…life was made.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page